Help me create a multi-religious homily

Want to talk about something? Life? Faith? This is the place.
Joe Parrish
Location: Antigua, New York City, and New York and New Jersey and Connecticut and Tennessee, USA

Post by Joe Parrish » Sat Sep 12, 2009 2:28 pm

My US business school has its 35th reunion in October, and I have been asked to speak briefly at the memorial service for the classmates who are deceeased. The audience will be multi-religious and non-religious, probably more Christians, several Jews, a few Muslems, and possibly Buddhists or others; some 'observing' and some not. What ideas would you have that I should consider using?

I am a Christian pastor.

Thanks in advance for your input!

Peace,
Joe :)

PS--I post regularly on our church's web site at http://sjnj.org

Ernest
Auxilium

Post by Ernest » Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:59 pm

Joe,

http://www.c-r-t.org/index.php

I was thinking about Multi-Religious issues and did a search. While there is lots on Wikipedia, I found the above website, which seems to be Religions working together for peace.

So multi-faith in action might be their headline.

I hope this helps.

Ernest
Where there is hope and love there is life!
God is Life!
God is Hope!
God is Love!
God Is!!

Pam
Web Pastor

Post by Pam » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:25 am

Joe, how exciting!

Just off the top of my head - my experience of working in a multi faith setting (in prison chaplaincy) was that lots of those with a non-Christian belief set were interested in talking about faith, even though they didn't see him quite like I did, so I think talking about your faith would be perfectly acceptable, framed in such a way to make it clear you were not trying to push anyone else into sharing it.

The only people I can think of who might not find talking about your faith acceptable would be Dawkins-style atheists, but I guess nothing a Christian pastor said would be acceptable to anyone with that particular mindset.

Isobel
previously IMR